Entry to Finland as of 12.7.2021

Updated 12.7.2021

In line with the Government’s decision from 8 July, internal border control will continue between 12 and 25 July. During this time, both the entry restrictions in place at Finland’s internal and external borders and the requirements of the Communicable Diseases Act will be applied. Internal borders refer to borders between Finland and other countries belonging to the Schengen Area. Changes will be made to external border control as well.

Conditions on entry to Finland

The Finnish Border Guard shall allow a passenger to  enter  Finland 12. – 25.7., when one of these conditions is met:

  • Under the Constitution of Finland, Finnish citizens and residents of Finland always have the right to return to Finland, and everyone has the right to leave Finland if they so wish, provided that there is no legal impediment to this.
  • Entry is permitted from EU and Schengen countries, if the amount of Covid-19 cases in that country is under 25 per 100 000 inhabitants, or if the person has completed a full vaccination series or had a Covid-19 infection within the last six months (a certificate is required).
  • Business travel and other essential travel to Finland is permitted from other EU and Schengen countries.
  • It is allowed to arrive in Finland from third countries that are on the EU green list, where there are under 25 Covid-19 cases per 100 000 inhabitants.
  • A person travelling from another third country must have an essential reason for  entry.
  • Transit travel through Helsinki-Vantaa airport is always possible. Health safety measures are not applied to transit travellers at Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, but travellers must meet the requirements of the destination country.

If the person has a right to enter Finland, the health safety measures applied at the border will be assessed based on the Communicable Diseases Act.

Health checks and COVID-19 testing at Finland’s borders

After an entry check by the Border Guard, people arriving in Finland from high-risk countries will be directed to undergo a health check. Starting on 12 July, people over 16 years of age arriving in Finland must have proof of one of the following:

  1. full vaccination against COVID-19
  2. a negative COVID-19 test carried out up to 72 hours prior to arrival or a first vaccine dose received at least 2 weeks prior to arrival in the country
    – in this case, a test is also required within 3–5 days of arrival
  3. recovery from COVID-19 within the past six months

Those who arrive in Finland without proof of vaccination, a negative COVID-19 test or recovery from COVID-19 must be tested as soon as they arrive in Finland and a second time within 3–5 days. The tests are free of charge. Please avoid contact with others while waiting for your test results.

People arriving from low-risk countries will not be directed to a health check at the point of entry and do not need to be tested for COVID-19 upon arrival.

Certificate of a negative COVID-19 test result or one dose of vaccine not enough to allow entry to the country

As announced by the Ministry of Social Affairs and Health on Tuesday 6 July, with respect to health security measures a certificate of a negative COVID-19 test prior to the entry or of the first dose of vaccine at least 14 days prior to the entry will be enough to allow a person to enter Finland. However, persons travelling to Finland should remember that, with respect to countries that continue to be subject to internal border control and entry restrictions, such a certificate will not be enough to allow entry during the transitional period 12-25 July.

The new entry model will come into effect as of 26.7. 2021

As of 26 July 2021, the restrictions on entry will be lifted in all traffic arriving in Finland from Schengen countries and Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino and the Vatican because, in line with the EU recommendations, these countries are comparable to Schengen countries. In addition, entry into Finland from EU or Schengen countries will also be permitted if the person has a certificate of a completed COVID-19 vaccination series received before arriving in Finland or a certificate stating that they have recovered from COVID-19 less than six months prior to entry. This means that, under these conditions, recreational travel to Finland will also be permitted.

See the websites below for existing entry restrictions and health security requirements.

Country-specific listing for internal and external border control
Guidelines for border traffic during pandemic as of 12.7.2021
COVID-19 information, Finnish Border Guard
Travelling to Finland and booking a COVID-19 test – FINENTRY
Travel and the coronavirus pandemic (the Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare THL)

The Finnish Border Guard’s citizen helpline:

The Finnish Border Guard’s citizen helpline is receiving a high number of emails and inquiries and therefore the response time is longer than usual. Please check first the current travel restrictions on Border Guard’s homepage.

If you need information about the Covid-virus, testing requirements, or quarantine, call the Finnish Government’s telephone service: +358 295 535 535.