The Finnish Expatriates of the Year 2020 will be awarded on 3 March

Who is the Finnish Expatriate of the Year 2020? Come and find out at the Finnish Expatriate of the Year  2020 prize ceremony on Tuesday 3 March, 2020 at 2pm – 3pm at the Finnish Literature Society hall (Hallituskatu 1, Helsinki). Please, send us email at by 27 February if you will be joining us. You are warmly welcome to celebrate the Finnish Expatriate of the Year 2020 with us!

Since 1993, a Finn living overseas or descendant of Finnish emigrants has been honoured as the Finnish Expatriate of the Year. The recognition has been given to a person who has particularly excelled in his or her field or fostered Finnish cultural heritage or possibly promoted cultural exchange, trade or other cooperation between Finland ant the new home country. The recipient may also be an expatriate Finn representing his or her community or an expatriate community.

Previous Finnish Expatriates of the Year

  •     1993 Robert Selvala, founder of the FinnFest USA
  •     1994 translator and author Mirja Bolgár
  •     1995 Arvi Tervalampi, a Finnish organization activist in Sweden
  •     1996 soprano Karita Mattila
  •     1997 soccer player Jari Litmanen
  •     1998 Finnish-American Vieno Williams, as a representative of the great migration wave
  •     1999 Formula 1 driver Mika Häkkinen
  •     2000 Linus Torvalds, creator of the Linux user system
  •     2001 opera singer Matti Salminen
  •     2002 European Ombudsman Jacob Söderman
  •     2003 composer Kaija Saariaho
  •     2004 journalist Erkki Toivanen
  •     2005 conductor and composer Esa-Pekka Salonen
  •     2006 hockey player Saku Koivu
  •     2007 translator Richard Impola
  •     2008 professor Bengt Holmström
  •     2009 missionary doctor Leena Pasanen
  •     2010 journalist and writer Helena Petäistö
  •     2011 Olli Rehn, European Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs and Vice President of the European Commission
  •     2012 professor Outi Hovatta, a stem cell researcher
  •     2013 conductor and clarinetist Osmo Vänskä
  •     2014 Bonita Pietila, producer of the TV series The Simpson
  •     2015 journalist and writer Mark Levengood
  •     2016 entrepreneur Suvi Kauranen
  •     2017 Suomi schools throughout the world
  •     2018 writer Mika Keränen
  •     2019 WMO Secretary-General Petteri Taalas